50 Most Influential Energy Nominees of 2011 (#Energy100)

25 more #Energy100 nominees have been released.  While some nominees may be controversial, all of these influencers are making a difference in the energy industry…whether it’s positive or negative influence may be a matter of great debate, but they’re influential nonetheless.

The latest 25 nominees amongst the 50 Influencers nominated so far are highlighted in red and include:

  • Shai Agassi (Founder & CEO of Better Place)
  • Dan Arthur (President of ALL Consulting)
  • Gary Bloom (CEO of eMeter)
  • Mark Boling (Executive Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary of Southwestern Energy)
  • Brendan Bradley (Manager of Communications at Independent Petroleum Association of America)
  • Michael R. Bromwich (Director at Bureau of Ocean Energy Management Regulation & Enforcement)
  • Russ Capper (Owner & CEO of The EnergyMakers)
  • Aneesh Chopra (Chief Technology Officer of the United States)
  • Kirk Brand Coburn (Co-founder & Managing Director of SURGE Accelerator)
  • G. Allen Brooks (Managing Director at Parks Paton Hoepfl & Brown)
  • Tom Corbett (Governor of Pennsylvania)
  • Robbie Diamond (Founder, President & CEO of Securing America’s Future Energy)
  • Greg Ebel (President & CEO of Spectra Energy)
  • Michael J. Economides (Editor-in-Chief at Energy Tribune)
  • Tony Fadell (Founder & CEO of Nest Labs)
  • Ahmad Faruqui (Principal at The Brattle Group)
  • Jim Flores (Chairman, President & CEO of Plains Exploration)
  • Doug Foshee (Chairman, President & CEO of El Paso)
  • Jack Gerard (President & CEO of the American Petroleum Institute)
  • Allen Gilmer (Founder & CEO at Drillinginfo)
  • George Gosbee (Founder, President, Chairman & CEO of AltaCorp Capital)
  • Jim Hackett (Chairman & CEO of Anadarko Petroleum)
  • Dave Heineman (Governor of Nebraska)
  • Jeffrey Hildebrand (Founder, Chairman & CEO of Hilcorp Energy)
  • Jim Keffer (Texas State Representative)
  • Richard Kinder (Chairman & CEO at Kinder Morgan)
  • Chris King (Chief Regulatory & Strategy Officer at eMeter)
  • Kathryn Zuberbuhler Klaber (President & Executive Director at Marcellus Shale Coalition)
  • Bill Limbrick (CIO & Vice President of Organizational Development at IESO)
  • Amory Lovins (Chairman & Chief Scientist at Rocky Mountain Institute)
  • Michael E. Lynch (President at Strategic Energy & Economic Research)
  • Mieko Mahi (Owner, Photographer & Videographer of EnergyImages.com)
  • Keith Mauck (President & Owner of American Energy Communications)
  • Kenny Mercado (Sr. Vice President of Regulated Operations Technology at CenterPoint Energy)
  • Aubrey McClendon (Co-Founder, Chairman & CEO of Chesapeake Energy)
  • George Mitchell (Philanthropist)
  • Barrack Obama (President of the United States)
  • Brandy Brazell Obvintsev (Founder & President of Energy People Connect)
  • Michael J. Palmer (Inventor)
  • T. Boone Pickens (Founder, Chairman & CEO of BP Capital and TBP Investments Management)
  • Trevor Rees-Jones (Founder, President & CEO at Chief Oil & Gas)
  • Jeremy Rifkin (Owner of The Foundation on Economic Trends)
  • James Sharp (Vice President Natural Gas Investments at MAP)
  • John W. Somerhalder II (Chairman, President & CEO of AGL Resources)
  • Jim Surjaatmadja (Chief Technical Advisor-Technology at Halliburton)
  • Jennifer Valencia (Director of Client Relations at Unleaded Communications)
  • Bill Weihl (former Green Energy Czar at Google)
  • Jon Wellinghoff (Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Committee)
  • Floyd Wilson (Former Chairman & CEO of Petrohawk Energy)
  • Daniel Yergin (Co-Founder & Chairman at HIS CERA)

Who else is making a difference and what impact are they making in the energy industry?

.. movers, shakers, rising stars, explorers, wildcatters, dreamers, innovators

.. oil, gas, solar, geothermal, hydro, wind, coal, nuclear, biofuel

.. c-level, services, public relations, marketers, engineers, geologists, landmen, brokers, investors, inventors

Nominate your notables in comments and follow the #Energy100 topic with @Oilmahn on twitter.

25 more nominations will be published soon…who else would you nominate for the 100 Most Influential Energy People of 2011?


  1. SHI Dinghuan, Counselor of the State Council of the PRC (responsible for energy, S&T)
    David SANDALOW, Assistant Secretqary for Policy & Int’l Affairs, U.S. Dept of Energy

  2. Brian, we would like to nominate the following:
    – Muammar Gaddafi!
    – Sam Moody (CEO, Rockhopper Exploration Plc)
    – Alex Merle (Director International Sales & Trading, Cressman Tubular Products Corporation)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s